Faculty and Staff


Mark YoungMark Young, Interim Assistant Director

Office: Room 1112
Phone: (858) 534-4351
Email: mtyoung@ucsd.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 12:00-1:00pm


Keith McClearyKeith McCleary, Lecturer

Office: Room 1114
Phone: (858) 534-1704
Email: kmccleary@ucsd.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-4:00pm


Adam VealAdam Veal, Lecturer

Office: Room 1110
Phone: (858) 246-2116
Email: aveal@ucsd.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 2:00-3:00pm


Hanna TawaterHanna Tawater, Program Coordinator

Office: Room 1108
Phone: (858) 534-3068
Email: warrenwritingprogram@ucsd.edu
Program Hours: M. & W. 8:00am-4:30pm; Tu. & Th. 8:00am-4:00pm; F. via email

Interim Director: Emily Roxworthy, Warren College Provost

Office: Room 1102
Phone: (858) 534-1709

TA Office Hours: Winter 2017

INSTRUCTOR NAME

 DAY & TIME

EMAIL ADDRESS

Hari Alluri MW 11:30-12:30
halluri@ucsd.edu
Henry Argetsinger W 11:45-1:45
hargetsi@ucsd.edu
Garret Bryant TR 9:30-11:00
gmbryant@ucsd.edu
Jennifer Carter M-Th 12:30-1:30
jcarter1@ucsd.edu 
Bailee Chandler W 12:00-2:00
bchandle@ucsd.edu
Gina di Grazia TR 11:30-12:30
galtavil@ucsd.edu
Emma Duncan Th 9:00-11:00
erduncan@ucsd.edu
Stephen Griffin M 8:00-12:00
s1griffin@ucsd.edu
Senay Hawelti MW 2:15-3:15
shawelti@ucsd.edu
Kathryn Joyce T 2:30-3:30
kejoyce@ucsd.edu
Noel Martin W 1:00-3:00
nbmartin@ucsd.edu
Chris Pedler TR 10:30-12:00
jpedler@ucsd.edu
Kayleigh Setoda T 8:30-9:30, 2:00-4:00
ksetoda@ucsd.edu
Ethan Sparks TR 12:30-2:30
ewsparks@ucsd.edu  
Natalie Susi MW 2:15-3:15
nsusi@ucsd.edu
Constance Sutter TR 2:00-3:00
csutter@ucsd.edu
Dean Tracy TR 11:00-12:00, W 1:00-2:00
datracy@ucsd.edu
Marina Vlahaki W 2:00-4:00
mvlahaki@ucsd.edu

Prospective TAs

The Warren College Writing Program welcomes graduate student applications from all departments of the university, including the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Our appointments are for year-long (and usually renewable) teaching positions. Successful applicants learn how to teach students to write and read academic arguments. The purpose of the Warren Writing sequence is to enable undergraduate students, through intensive practice, to read and write academic arguments in preparation for their work in various academic disciplines.

All students in Warren College must complete a two-course writing requirement. Warren Writing TAs work under the guidance of the program director but are the sole instructors in the classroom. All new TAs teach the first course in the sequence from a common syllabus, which allows for productive discussions of pedagogical issues in our weekly staff meetings. Experienced TAs are given the opportunity to design topic-specific courses that fulfill the second course in the sequence.  Design and implementation of new courses is always done in groups. Our current 10A course topic is "The Pursuit of Happiness." Our current 10B course topic is "Food Matters: Eating in the 21st Century."

TAs in our program teach six sections per year (not more than 15 students per section). All new instructors are required to attend the WCWP 500 teaching practicum on Tuesdays from 5 to 6:30 p.m. Just before the start of the academic year, instructors meet for a two-day orientation to prepare them to teach the first of the two writing courses offered by the program. During orientation, we discuss pedagogy, teaching methods, responding to work-in-progress, teaching successful revision strategies, and grading.

Responsibilities include implementing the course syllabus, teaching assigned sections, commenting on drafts of student papers, assigning grades, holding office hours, attending staff meetings, and using UCSD’s learning management system TritonEd (formerly Ted). Responsibilities average out to 20 hours per week for 50% appointments, so teachers are expected to balance their workload accordingly. Teachers enjoy the collegial atmosphere and a fair amount of autonomy. We work to establish a supportive teaching environment where pedagogical ideas and materials are shared and where TAs feel comfortable asking questions and seeking help.

Our courses run Monday/Wednesday and Tuesday/Thursday, 80 minutes per section. Teachers are asked to keep reasonable availability open in their own classes to accomodate the program's schedule.

For more information and to apply, please visit the TA Recruitment in the Writing Programs site.

Resources

Contact Warren College