Warren College Academe Awards

The BEARLS:  Academe Awards For Principles of Community

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Time: 5 PM

Atkinson Hall Auditorium, Calit2

View the Livestream

Join Warren College as we honor individuals or groups who exemplify the UC San Diego Principles of Community.  The BEARLS, an Oscars-equivalent recognition program, honors five members of the Warren College community for excellence in the following five categories:

  • Rejecting Acts of Discrimination
  • Championing Freedom of Expression
  • Celebrating All cultures
  • Resolving Conflict Constructively
  • Promoting Individuality 

Featured Speakers

Paula Abdul

Highlights of the evening include distinguished alumna and recipient of the 2017 Warren College Alumni Award, Dr. Tess Mauricio (“America’s Favorite Dermatologist”), who will also be presenting The Earl Warren College Humanitarian Award to celebrity Paula Abdul. The world knows Emmy-, Grammy- and American Music Award-winner Paula Abdul as an entertainer/entrepreneur who sings, acts, dances and designs. America knows that she has one of the kindest hearts in all of Hollywood from her time judging American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance.


Rejecting Acts of Discrimination 

Grant Goodall
Fernando Vega
Sidney Yerger

Championing Freedom of Expression

Cesar Figueroa
Keith McCleary
Jordan Viernes

Celebrating All Cultures 

Gina Di Grazia
Amarachi Metu
Zahabiya Nuruddin

Resolving Conflict Constructively

Alexis Eubank
Anthony P. Jakuvisin
Delaney Jures

Promoting Individuality

Shivani Das
Cecilia Ubilia

Attendance will be limited to nominees and invited guests but the entire community can participate by watching the live-streamed (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q-Fbx99LFxY) red carpet and awards ceremony on this page. Viewing parties will be hosted across UC San Diego campus including at the Student Activities Center at Warren. Follow the Warren College Student Affairs Facebook page for viewing party prizes and other incentives.

For more information about the Warren College Academe Awards program or nominations, contact waprovost@ucsd.edu.


Contact Warren College