Skip to main content

2018 BEARLS Academe Awards for the Principles of Community

The Academe Awards for Principles of Community, a.k.a the BEARLS, recognize achievements in nomination categories drawn from the UC San Diego Principles of Community.  This program aligns Tritons' most cherished values with Hollywood-style accolades to promote social change at home and around the world.

Warren College as we honors members of the UC San Diego community for excellence in the following five categories:

  • Rejecting Acts of Discrimination
  • Championing Freedom of Expression
  • Celebrating All cultures
  • Resolving Conflict Constructively
  • Promoting Individuality 

Featured Speakers

Paula Abdul

Highlights of the evening include DC Comics artist and recipient of the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award, Alex Sinclair, and 2018 Earl Warren College Humanitarian Award winner Shannon Elizabeth, who has pivoted from a multifaceted career as a reality TV star on Celebrity Big Brother and Season 6 of Dancing with the Stars, as a Hollywood actress, and as an international poker champion, to devote herself full-time to charity work helping to save the endangered rhinoceros population in Cape Town, South Africa.

2018 Award Recipients

Rejecting Acts of Discrimination

Fnann Keflezighi

Championing Freedom of Expression

Sofia Zaragoza

Celebrating All Cultures 

Pu "Riley" Zhang

Resolving Conflict Constructively

Amarachi Metu

Promoting Individuality

Warren Transfer and Commuter Commission (WTCC)
Jessica Tawn and Nadia Keddo

Signature Program: Animal Conservation and Civil Discourse



Animal Conservation and Civil Discourse 

A special panel on animal rights, conservation and captivity

Thursday, March 8, 2018

11:00-1:00 pm

Calit2 Auditorium

Join us for a panel on animal rights, conservation and captivity with the winner of the 2018 Earl Warren Humanitarian Award Shannon Elizabeth, Hollywood actress and Celebrity Big Brother cast member and animal rights activist who currently works with endangered rhinos in South Africa through her charity, Animal Avengers, and her foundation, Rhino Review. The panel of animal experts also includes:

  • Dr. Shermin de Silva -  President & Founder, Trunks & Leaves, a non-profit for Asian Elephants
  • Prof. Pascal Gagneux - Departments of Pathology and Anthropology, UCSD
  • Prof. John Hildebrand - Scripps Whale Acoustic Lab, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD
  • Prof. Kaustuv Roy -  Section of Ecology, Behavior, and Evolution, UCSD
  • Dr. Oliver Ryder - Kleberg Endowed Director of Conservation Genetics, San Diego Zoo Global
  • Dr. Judy St. Leger, DVM - Vice President of Research & Science, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment 
  • Moderator Prof. Emily Roxworthy - Provost of Earl Warren College, UCSD

This event is hosted by Earl Warren College at the University of California San Diego, in collaboration with Sea World, The San Diego Zoo, and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

Download PDF Event Flyer

2018 Photos

Photos from the 2018 Bearls can be viewed on Flickr.

2018 Video

For more information about the Warren College Academe Awards program or nominations, contact